We have said many times to one another that you are an astute businesswoman, Pat (as the rentals  seem to be your doing). I think what has made it work is that you combine your business sense with a high regard and concern for people and their welbeing.
I never responded to the earlier email followup to our visit to Heron’s View. It was a delightful and rewarding week, as always, getting to spend time with (mostly) my daughter, and my son and his wife. Everyone enjoyed Heron’s View and our time there. I did find that the prior tenants had not cleaned up very well, which was a disappointment I accepted as part of vacationing during the season when there must be far more traffic than the off-seasons P.K. and I had been there. 
So it was a surprise that next season will be the last. I have offered my son and his wife a week at Heron’s View (they prefer the off-season), but they are also undergoing some changes that may keep them from being able to accept. We will see as things unfold.
The weather during our visit wasn’t expected to be good, as the rainy, humid summer seemed to be endless in the LV. Happily, it only rained on our way there, though it was humid during most of the week. We felt so lucky to be able to take advantage of both pools, and to borrow books when my supply ended. All in all, the week was a real gift to all of us. 
Thank you so much for Herons View and Sunscape. Each of our visits was wonderfully comfortable and provided a place where we could relax away from our nest at home

Sally L

August, 2018


I wanted to do something different for my 40th birthday, so while on the internet I came across Herons View and saw pictures of a cozy condo over looking a Lake and I was sold.  Between the price and the number of rooms, it was just right for me and my 5 guests.
When I arrived at Mallard Lakes, where the lake house was located, I was excited and yet upset b/c it was during a hurricane so the weather was less than appealing. I was sure that it was going to be a flop birthday seeing how we would not get the chance to visit Ocean City boardwalk.
But when I arrived at the condo and open the door, I was pleasantly surprised. It felt welcoming and like home. The kitchen was small but manageable and having a second bathroom off the kitchen was convenient. The REAL gem and what I call the show stopper was past the kitchen into the living room was the glassed in porch that over looked the lake. I mean just breath taking and I forgot all about the rain or the hurricane.
We spent the whole time, playing board games and eating home cooked meals, we even had coffee out on the porch and listened to the rain. The bedrooms were upstairs and they were very spacious. The bathroom had a garden tub that made my husband squeal with delight because at 6 foot 4, he has never been able to take a proper bath. So guess where he spent the first night before bed.
I am happy to say that I did in fact get to go to the boardwalk briefly as the rain did let up. The Condo is located so close to everything and in any direction we were 10 mins from stores and grocery stores. There is even a liquor store across from Mallard Lakes.  I plan on re visiting the condo but maybe not during hurricane season, maybe when it's a little warmer and the pool is open.
Thank you so much for allowing me the chance to rent this condo, You made my birthday weekend better than I thought it was going to be. This is a hidden gem near Ocean City and I am so grateful to have found it!
The birthday Girl,
Shannon W

September '18


This was my family’s 4th vacation to the area and we are so happy we found Herons View.  We love spending our time at the beautiful beaches of Delaware and Assateague Island, MD.  This condo is the perfect location --- close proximity to everything we enjoy!  It is clear from the moment you walk in that Pat cares about her renters with her attention to the fine details – everything is labeled, available books/games/beach stuff, and even umbrellas just in case you might need them.  We also enjoyed the very spacious pool at Mallard Lakes.   Thank you, Pat!  We hope to be back next year!


Kim S., August, 2018


Hello Pat!  We've checked out after a full and wonderful week.  We rather not waste tomorrow traveling.  We hope to come back next year.  The bathroom rug and hand towel were washed and the rug is hanging on the shower rod because it's damp. Kids had a great time.  They were always busy.  They even caught fish in the lake and saw crabs and the heron's.  Staying bayside was such a great experience over the oceanside hotels we've stayed at for years.

Betsy, June, 2018


Hi Pat, 

We’ve really enjoyed your place & exploring the area! Finishing up a nice week watching wildlife around the neighborhood - peaceful. Nancy next door is sweet, enjoyed talking with her. 

Passing along a couple things about your place. The bathroom is just lovely! It didn’t seem like four adults shared it, lots of room!


Suzanne, June 2018 

Thank you! We had a wonderful time and were sad to come home. The kids loved every minute of the vacation. Only complaint we had was the ants not sure if you have seen them!  (From Pat: Yes, the heavy rains woke them up! Contractor to the rescue)   But everything else was great we loved the games you have and played them daily!! 

Thanks again,

Laura Crites

Have stayed at Herons View a couple of times and enjoyed every minute. The community is clean, well kept and friendly. Close to beaches, restaurants, movie theatre, convenience stores, Ocean City Boardwalk and more. The property is pretty, comfortable and relaxing. Kitchen is fully equipped and the beds are comfortable. I love the outdoors and so the sun porch is my favorite, giving the feel of being outside even if the weather is chilly - even raining. Love the big pine tree and all the birds that come around. Lots of cute little birds, also mallards and herons. I feel relaxed and at home as soon as I walk in the door. Pat is friendly, a lovely host and so pleasant and accommodating. Herons View has definitely become our "go to" getaway place in all seasons.

Debbie Dempsey, New Castle, DE - May 2018

Review of Heron’s View

5/5 

Stayed May 2018

Lynn B.Usa

This rental is just what we needed for 1 overnight stay. Much more comfortable and cheaper for 4 people than a hotel room. Property was clean and well kept. We would definitely recommend the property to friends and we plan to return when we can stay longer.

Submitted May 06, 2018

Peaceful Retreat

5/5 

Stayed Apr 2018

Brenda M.

Very tranquil getaway close to the beach. Only stayed one night with a friend for a quick getaway and we wished we could stay more. House equipped with everything you could need. Pat was so great to work with. Responding promptly and friendly. Very clean property and well maintained. Would love to return and stay longer.

Submitted Apr 20, 2018

Owner's Response:

Hi Brenda, thanks for visiting HERONS VIEW. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

Hope you had a safe journey home.

Best, Pat

Relaxing, refreshing and Heaven.

5 of 5

Jennifer U.

I felt so at home. The owners had everything VERY organized and detailed, it was fool proof. The community was inviting, kind and peaceful. It was a short 5-10 min drive to a beach. Stores, restaurants and much more within a mile or 2. I cannot wait, to return.

Submitted: Apr 3, 2018

Stayed: March 2018

Desiree M.

4

Cozy and convenient

4 of 5

Desiree M.

A friend and I had a lovely stay at Heron's View and really enjoyed our first trip to the area. The condo had beach decorations which I love. Pretty view of the lake out back, and yes, we did get to view a heron! Property looked as pictured, Pat was readily available to help us. Assateague Island was wonderful, even on a cold winter day. Delicious meals at Harpoon Hannas, Crabcake Factory Bayside, and the Globe Hotel in Berlin. I would stay definitely stay here again!

Submitted: Mar 22, 2018

Stayed: March 2018

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Desiree, I'm so happy you enjoyed your first visit to Fenwick Island. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. I'm delighted to hear that you visited Berlin, recently voted " The Coolest Small Town in America". It's also where Runaway Bride with Julia Roberts was filmed - they even have walking tours of the sites! Come back soon! Best, Pat

 

Angela F.

4

Very Relaxing!

4 of 5

Angela F.

We stayed at Heron's View while we were in town for the Polar Bear plunge. This was a perfect place to relax and warm up from all the outdoor activities of the weekend. The beds were comfortable, and we enjoyed the cable and wifi very much! We plan to book for a long summer weekend and the neighborhood appeared to have many amenities specific to summer travelers.

Would definitely recommend Heron's View to others!

Submitted: Feb 6, 2018

Stayed: February 2018

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Brrrrrrrr, Angela! Congratulations on doing the Polar Bear Plunge! I salute you. Happy you enjoyed your stay, come back soon. Best, Pat

Doreen F.

5

Perfect place for a long-weekend getaway!

5 of 5

Doreen F.

Everything that was promised in the write-up definitely delivered! IMMACULATE accommodations and situated in a very convenient location; close to all the major beaches and Assateague Island. Truly enjoyed walking the streets of Berlin, MD as well as seeing beautiful wild horses! The Blacksmith and The Globe restaurants did not disappoint. Owners Pat and Henry are very pleasant and wonderful to work with.

I will recommend this property to both family and friends interested in visiting the Delmarva area. Looking forward to booking again!

Submitted: Jan 15, 2018

Stayed: January 2018

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks, Doreen! I agree, Berlin is a sweet little town. It won " Coolest Small Town in the US" a few years ago. Funky shops, great food, Octoberfest, etc all make for a fun visit! Best, Pat

Rosanne M.

5

Quiet little gem

5 of 5

Rosanne M.

Heron’s View is just that. Every morning we enjoyed watching herons steps away from the condo. It is tastefully decorated. Very clean and had most of the basics that we expected to run out to buy. Perfectly situated pond front. We will be back!!

Submitted: Dec 30, 2017

Stayed: December 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your holiday retreat at HERONS VIEW! Even in winter, the view is stunning! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best, Pat

Carly B.

5

Well kept, beautiful condo in a relaxing setting!

5 of 5

Carly B.

Pictures do not do this property justice! Condo was well maintained and beautifully decorated. Front the minute you walked in the front door you are transformed to a relaxing and warm space. The views from the screened in porch were amazing. The water and the water foul were great to look at and watch will drinking a cup of coffee or sipping a glass of wine. Everything about the condo was comfortable (sofa, chairs, beds, etc) Thank you for a great weekend away and we will be back!

Submitted: Oct 22, 2017

Stayed: October 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks Carly, can't wait to welcome you back! Best, Pat

Sally H.

5

Absolute no place better!!!!!!

5 of 5

Sally H.

Herons View is the perfect vacation no matter what time of year I vacation here. I believe this is my fifth visit (all different times of the year) and I absolutely love it. It is in a perfect location and the accommodations are unsurpassed. The unit is clean, comfy, quiet, nicely decorated, homey, every thing you need is provided, and quite simply a slice of vacation heaven. There is no other way to put it.

There is not one negative thing I can even come up with about this

rental property other than it deserves 10 stars not 5. Pat the owner is wonderful to work with. She is quick to respond to all inquires and questions and just dealing with her you know your stay is going to be stress free and wonderful. I was actually teary eyed leaving this past Saturday (9/30/17) that is how much I love it here.

Submitted: Oct 1, 2017

Stayed: September 2017

Owner's Response: Thanks again, Sally , always a pleasure to welcome you! Until next time..... Best, Pat

Lindsey A.

5

FUN FAMILY VACATION!

5 of 5

Lindsey A.

We had a wonderful family vacation! Heron's View is a comfortable townhouse in a great location. We enjoyed having the option of going to the beach or to the pool, the kids enjoyed the playgrounds, hand line crabbing at the dock, playing shuffleboard, shooting basketball, and riding their bikes/scooters around the community.

Submitted: Aug 20, 2017

Stayed: August 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Hi Lindsey, I'm so happy you enjoyed your 2 week stay at HERONS VIEW! Reserve early for next summer as we have several weeks booked at HERONS VIEW and SUNSCAPE already! Best, Pat

 

Amy D.

5

Just breathe...

5 of 5

Amy D.

A comfy beachy home with everything you need to have a relaxing vacation. Enjoy being away from the crowds but the location offers everything you need in a close proximity.

Submitted: Aug 6, 2017

Stayed: July 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks, Amy! Yes, Mallard Lakes is an oasis tucked away but close to everything. We look forward to welcoming you next week for your 3rd visit this summer! Best, Pat

 

Mark B.

5

Home Away from Home

5 of 5

Mark B.

Herons View was a home away from home for us on our recent vacation. The home was very comfortable and well taken care of. Herons View is close to the beach, restaurants, grocery stores and other amenities. It was perfectly located between the resort towns of Ocean City and Rehobeth. However, it was just far enough away from the overcrowded Ocean City beaches and traffic. The beaches at Fenwick Island are cleaner and less crowded. The activities at Mallard Lakes were perfect for a family with children of any age. I would definitely recommend Herons View for anyone looking for a relaxing and carefree vacation.

Submitted: Jun 23, 2017

Stayed: June 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks Mark, we enjoyed welcoming you !

 

Erika B.

Maryland

5

Serene

5 of 5

Erika B.

Herons View was an extremely enjoyable vacation. I wish we were able to stay longer. The grounds were very quiet and easy access to canoes, pools, the gorgeous lake 4 steps off the patio that receives beautiful sunrises. The unit is kept up very nicely and the decor gets you cozy feeling right at home. The best part about visiting at the end of March is fairly nice weather and easy/quick access to Ocean City and miniature gold without the summer lines. Pat & Henry are so pleasant to work with. I would highly recommend Herons View any day.

Submitted: Mar 27, 2017

Stayed: March 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Those sunrises over the lake ARE spectacular, aren't they, Erika? Hopefully you were also able to catch the pink sunsets from the entry side of HERONS VIEW. Yes, come and stay longer next time! Maybe in the fall? Best, Pat

 

Lynda B.

5

Perfect, quiet, has everything !

5 of 5

Lynda B.

Better than listed. Decorations and little things show great attention to detail. Pat is prompt and stays in touch. Location is in the middle between Ocean City and Rehoboth. Only a short drive to Coastal Highway. Great place to 'get away'. You definitely don't want to leave.

Submitted: Mar 24, 2017

Stayed: March 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks, Lynda, happy you enjoyed your visit! Best, Pat

 

Dana M.

5

Heron's View

5 of 5

Dana M.

We enjoyed our stay during a winter storm as the house was cozy and warm. The owners provided helpful recommendations for walks and restaurants.

Submitted: Mar 16, 2017

Stayed: March 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Hi Dana, I'm so happy you enjoyed your mid-winter visit to HERONS VIEW. Yes, Assawoman Nature area is a lovely area to take a walk or enjoy the view of the bay from the observation tower. And Mio Fratello, just a stroll across the street from HERONS VIEW, has fantastic Italian food and takes reservations all year round, even during the busy summer season. We hope you'll return to Mallard Lakes again! Best, Pat

tom w.

5

Perfect For Us

5 of 5

tom w.

This is our second time staying here. All accommodations are considered...Even the little things such as extra pillows/blankets, sewing kit and flashlights. The owner is knowledgeable and replies to all inquiries quickly and accurately. The family oriented community is quiet, clean and nice while providing an array of amenities available to the renter.

Submitted: Feb 21, 2017

Stayed: February 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Happy to welcome you again, Tom! Best, Pat

 

Mary Kay S.

5

Wonderful experience can't wait to go back!

5 of 5

Mary Kay S.

Wonderful, clean and cozy! We loved watching the herons and got some beautiful pictures! All the little touches in the place are charming, Pat was very accommodating and a pleasure to work and chat with. Thanks Pat!

Submitted: Feb 16, 2017

Stayed: February 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Mary Kay, I'm so happy I was able to meet you and fulfill that "special request'" to make your birthday visit extra special! We hope to welcome you to HERONS VIEW again - come back in the spring when the Mama & Papa herons can be seen sitting on their nest in the tidal lake - then you can watch their babies learn to fly! Best, Pat

 

Steve C.

5

House was perfect. Great neighborhood & amenities

5 of 5

Steve C.

Pat was great to work with. The house was just as described and very clean. The area is very close to restaurants, beaches and other attractions. We highly recommend this place!

Submitted: Dec 7, 2016

Stayed: December 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: I'm glad we were able to welcome you for the race in Rehoboth- well done! Please come and visit HERONS VIEW again! Best, Pat

 

Sally H.

5

TRANQUILITY AT IT'S BEST!!!

5 of 5

Sally H.

This is now my fourth time at Herons View and it gets better every time!! You could not ask for a better place to stay. Very clean, cozy, quite, great location, and well equipped with everything you need for the perfect relaxing vacation. This place soothes the soul. I love Fenwick Island and I would not consider staying anywhere else. I feel so lucky that I have found this little slice of heaven. I have already booked my fifth stay. The owner Pat Luftman is wonderful to work with and is willing to answer any and all questions regarding your stay. She takes great pride in her property and it shows in the property itself and the friendly service she provides. Do yourself a favor book this property for your next vacation you won't regret it!

Submitted: Oct 18, 2016

Stayed: October 2016

Source: HomeAway

Sally H.

5

Pure Bliss

5 of 5

Sally H.

The perfect place the perfect vacation. This is my third time here at Herons View and counting down the days, hours, minutes to my fourth. Clean, comfy, quite, great location, wonderful amenities, everything you need or want for a wonderful stay. The owner Pat is terrific to work with and is quick to answer any questions you may have. Five stars does not describe this wonderful place!

Submitted: Aug 31, 2016

Stayed: August 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks, S, we're so honored to count you among our returning guests. When we receive reviews as nice as yours, we feel we are accomplishing what we set out to do - share our love of Mallard Lakes and Fenwick Island so folks like you can visit and make your own memories here. Thank you for taking the time to send a review! Best, Pat

 

 

Lee M.

5

super nice condo

5 of 5

Lee M.

Very nice condo, very clean well supplied with everything you could need or want. Will come back next year.

Submitted: Jul 24, 2016

Stayed: July 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: We thank you for visiting and look forward to welcoming you back next summer! Best, Pat

 

Sharon K.

5

Wonderful stay at Heron's View

5 of 5

Sharon K.

We loved our stay at Heron'sView! The house was spotless and so convenient to pools, walking, tennis, shopping, restaurants, and the beach. As perfectly described by the owners, we enjoyed all the conveniences and relaxation within arm's length. The owners not only had the house stocked for dining and cooking ( if desired) but also DVD's, books, and HBO for movies. We have traveled through Europe, Bermuda, the islands, Las Vegas, etc. but never enjoyed a more relaxing vacation. We would highly recommend Heron's View for anyone ( or any family) who enjoys relaxing, unwinding, the beach, Boardwalk, swimming, and leisurely sight seeing. Staying in this charming house (with a beautiful view of one of the lakes) has spoiled us for even considering a hotel room vacation ever again. The owners anticipated every need - from directions, to discount coupons, to beach bags, to even a beach lunchbox!

Submitted: Jul 2, 2016

Stayed: June 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: We are delighted that HERONS VIEW was such a wonderful experience for you in your first stay in a private home versus a standard hotel room. It was our pleasure to host you and hope you visit us again!

 

Erez R.

5

Great Property to stay 2 adults + 2 kids

5 of 5

Erez R.

Great location, on the lake 5 min. drive from the beach, many options for the kids: Pool, beach, kayaks, mini-golf and more...

2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor with full bath and nice living room + dining room and a kitchen on the first floor.

Once checking in you must turn the water heater on ASAP - it takes some time for the water to heat for 2 showers...

Once Checking out you will need to clean and vacuum after your own mess...

Bring your bed sheets and towels and have fun fun fun !!!

Submitted: Jun 13, 2016

Stayed: June 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: We 're so happy you enjoyed your visit, Erez! Yes, we charge NO cleaning fee to our guests as many others do. We provide our guests with a short cleaning list that can be completed in no time at all. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to HERONS VIEW! Best, Pat

 

Mary W.

5

Relaxing and scenic

5 of 5

Mary W.

Mom and I had such a wonderful time in this charming vacation home and neighborhood. It was just what he doctor ordered to get away and unwind. Pat is such a pleasure to deal with. The home has a beachy feel. The location is perfect- very close to the beach and many activities. Warren's Station Family Restaurant has great food and service, and it's very close to Mallard Lakes. This is my new favorite place to go- no more hectic Ocean City MD and their crazy taxes for me! Mallard Lakes in Fenwick Island rocks!

Submitted: May 20, 2016

Stayed: May 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: M, we're so happy you discovered Mallard Lakes and HERONS VIEW. Warrens Station has the BEST Manhattan clam chowder I've ever had and their seafood is so fresh! It's 1 of our favorites too. We look forward to welcoming you back to HERONS VIEW . Best, Pat

 

Chamil J.

5

Great place to relax

5 of 5

Chamil J.

This is my second stay at herons view. Place is so clean, neat and homely. It is a great place for families with kids. Pat is a wonderful host who arranged our arrival at a short notice which I really appreciate.

Things to do around include. A visit to ocean city. Sales tax free shopping in malls at reheboth Beach. If you prefer a non commercial Beach, Fenwick island state park is a place to check out. So many places for great seafood. Crab cakes are the best.

Submitted: Apr 11, 2016

Stayed: April 2016

Source: HomeAway

 

nicole f.

5

Great home and location for a family getaway.

5 of 5

nicole f.

We are extremely impressed on how comfortable and clean the home was upon arrival. Pat the owner was great to work with and goes above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. We travel often and this is one of the top 3 three places we have stayed. We can't wait to plan our next vacation here.

Submitted: Mar 28, 2016

Stayed: March 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks for your lovely words, Nicole! We were delighted to welcome your family from Florida! Please come and visit us again. Best, Pat

 

Chamil J.

5

Herons view a true home away from home

5 of 5

Chamil J.

Herons view was a true oasis for us who wanted a getaway from the busy city. There are so many things good to write.

Booking process was super convenient with Pat, instructions were clear and, with fast response.

We were given complimentary early check in and late check out which was very generous.

House is well organized clean quiet and well equipped.

Every morning it was so pleasant to wake up with birds sound by the lake. House was located in a picturesque location and it was so relaxing to watch birds which was just what we needed.

Short drive away is the ocean city and all the fun but since we visited in an off season many activities were not available but if u wanna be in a less crowded beach this is the time to be.

Time passed by very quickly while we were here. We will definitely come back again.

Submitted: Jan 3, 2016

Stayed: December 2015

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed your New Years stay at HERONS VIEW! We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon. Best, Pat

 

Sally H.

5

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!

5 of 5

Sally H.

This is my second visit to Herons View and it gets better each time I visit. The place is clean, comfy, peaceful, great amenities, wonderful location, and well in a word just perfect! The owners provide everything you need to know about the rental to things to see and do in the area. They are wonderful to work with and are a fountain of information. The community is well maintained, manicured and quite. During the summer months they have two wonderful swimming pools. If you are looking for a stress free low key vacation I can not think of a better place to stay then Herons View in Mallard Lakes on Fenwick Island. I have already booked for my 2016 summer vacation. Counting down the days to my return to Herons View.

Submitted: Dec 15, 2015

Stayed: December 2015

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Sally, I'm so happy you and your 5 friends enjoyed your gals weekend! Shopping, dining and relaxing at the beach , what could be better? We look forward to welcoming you back again to HERONS VIEW for your 2 week getaway in June, 2016!

william c.
5

Perfect Place to Stay for A Golf Weekend!
5 of 5

william c.My overall experience with this rental was fantastic. Pat is very easy to deal with and the pricing is unbeatable. The house is in perfect condition and centrally located in the community. Myself along with friends stayed here for a golf weekend and could not have picked a better place.