Thank you for renting your place out to us. 
We thought it was a nice place, cutely decorated and user friendly. It is close enough to accommodate the activities we like to do.
We are hopeful that we can use the place again.
Regards
Tom O

Sept 2018


Hello Pat
Just wanted to let you know my stay at Sunscape was really nice. The unit was just as described-very cozy, well maintained, and it had everything we needed(I did miss my Keurig though). My nephew and his family were able to come down for a day and we had a great time.   It was extremely hot when we were there and it was so nice to just go to the pool to cool off and relax.. I would definitely recommend your places to my friends and family. One observation- the AC units upstairs were a little loud. Other than that everything was great. I would like to add that the whole rental process was very easy, much nicer than dealing with a realtor. 
Take care,
JoAnn

September 2018


Hello Pat,

Here is our review. 

Thank you, Pat and Henry, for allowing us to rent SUNSCAPE.  My husband, I and two boys, 9 and 5 had a wonderful time.  SUNSCAPE has it all.  Fishing, crabbing, a super clean pool, convenient parking for us and our guest.  The kitchen was perfect, dining room and of course having kids the washer-dryer was very important.  We appreciate all the labeling on the lights and instructions for everything were left in the home.  You really made renting a stress-free experience.  We were minutes from the beach which we frequented several times during the week.  We’ve stayed at ocean side hotels for 10+ years and we found Mallard Lakes to be much more enjoyable.  5 STARS.  I will be contacting you to reserve a week next year.  Perhaps we’ll try out the HERONS VIEW next!

Thank you,

Melissa D’Agostino and Family

June, 2018 

LAX and Basketball Tournament 2018

5/5

Stayed Jun 2018

Nancy S.

Your place is perfect!!! We came down for the weekend to play lacrosse and basketball games. We were able to get the basketball games in (since they are played inside) but lacrosse was RAINED out! Never saw so much water rise on Coastal Highway! Thank God we had your place to dry off and relax! The décor and the feel of home ~ made it a welcomed stay!

Submitted Jun 14, 2018

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5/5

Stayed Apr 2018

Susan J.Midlothian, Va

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at SUNSCAPE. The property was exactly as pictured. The kitchen was very well stocked and had everything we needed. The bathroom upstairs is shared by two bedrooms but that was not a problem as one of the entrances is from the Master bedroom and another from the hallway. The decorations were lovely. Beach, Beach, Beach everywhere. Sitting outside in the morning and evening watching the ducks and cranes was relaxing to say the least. As wonderful as the property is, the owner, Pat is even better. She was extremely easy to deal with and saw to our every need. We would absolutely go there again!!!

Submitted May 10, 2018

Owner's Response:

Thanks so much, Susan! We would love to welcome you back to SUNSCAPE anytime.

Best, Pat

Nice

4/5

Stayed Apr 2018

Linda F.Auburn Maine

The property was just as expected. My family and I stopped in for a one night stay on our trip south. It offered the amenities we needed at a fair price. Pat was easy to be in contact with and helpful. Thank-you.

Submitted Apr 17, 2018

Owner's Response:

Enjoy the rest of your trip, Linda! Maybe we'll see you on the return trip back to Maine!

Safe journey, Pat 

Quaint, Cozy, PERFECT

5 of 5

Doreen G.

This townhome fits the needs of every vacationer. From the single person looking for some quiet time to an entire family enjoying a beach week to reconnect with one another!

The property was very clean and orderly with helpful notes to orientate you to the home to the many brochures/suggestions as to where to go, what to see, places to eat; all with different price points to serve any vacation budget.

The owners provide EXCELLENT customer service in all aspects of your stay and are very accommodating to make you feel comfortable and happy while  being at your "Home away from Home".

I would highly recommend this property to anyone I knew wanting to visit this beautiful area.

While I was at my stay at Sunscape, I drove into the quaint little village of Berlin, MD. I went and enjoyed a delicious lunch at "The Blacksmith" which is a unique gastropub with an outstanding menu and great service. I then went onto explore Assateague Island to successfully site some gorgeous wild ponies and strolled along the amazing shoreline all the while taking pictures of shells and sand formations.

Hope you consider the Fenwick Island area for your next vacation and be sure to book your stay at "Sunscape" or it's sister property "Herons View" - Both excellent choices! Enjoy!

Submitted: Apr 13, 2018

Stayed: April 2018

Clean, bright, and a great location

5 of 5

Eric P.

We had a great time! Pat was extremely responsive and very professional. The place is well located within short driving distance to many of the areas attractions. It was clean , comfortable, and had all the amenities listed. Will certainly consider for our next trip to the area.

Submitted: Apr 2, 2018

Stayed: March 2018 

Margery R.

5

Comfortable, convenient, tranquil

5 of 5

Margery R.

This was my first time staying at Mallard Lakes, and my stay at Sunscape exceeded my expectations. Pat is an exemplar of hospitality. She was caring and responsive throughout the rental process--from initial inquiry through departure. Detailed instructions made everything easy. I wanted a tranquil place to work on my book, and Sunscape filled the bill. During my stay I felt comfortable and safe. It was nice to be secluded without being isolated. Grocery stores and restaurants are nearby. The house is relaxing and supplied with all the amenities anyone might need, including discount cards for nearby stores. Having my morning coffee complemented by watching the herons on the lake outside the sunroom was an unexpected treat, and got my day off to an inspired start. I highly recommend Sunscape as a place to stay, and the Luftmans as caring owners.

Submitted: Dec 10, 2017

Stayed: October 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Margery, I'm so happy to hear you made progress on your book! ( I hope you'll let me know when it's published!) This was the 1st time we hosted a guest for a month long rental and I wish I could write a review for YOU! You were the perfect guest and we hope to welcome you again. Good luck with the rest of the book! Best, Pat

 

Mario L.

Philadelphia, PA

5

Was just as expected

5 of 5

Mario L.

The description is pretty accurate, and it was just as expected. Great stay.

Thanks!

Submitted: Sep 27, 2017

Stayed: September 2017

Melissa F.

5

A beautiful, relaxing home in Mallard Lakes!

5 of 5

Melissa F.

We had a wonderful week staying at Sunscape the last week of August. The home is adorable and very comfortable, with all the amenities you need. We have stayed at Mallard Lakes many times over the years, in many different rentals. This is definitely one of the nicest. The owners were incredibly friendly and responsive, they made the rental process very easy. They even responded immediately to a late evening text asking a question about the home and were willing to send someone over that night for help if needed (we didn't, and everything was fine). My son is 2-years-old and we love the idea of starting family beach vacation traditions with him; we will definitely be back!

Submitted: Sep 4, 2017

Stayed: August 2017

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Melissa, I'm smiling as I write this because our son was also 2 when we first started vacationing at Mallard Lakes! :):) ( He's now 23 and we own 2 vacation rentals there, SUNSCAPE and HERONS VIEW) We do pride ourselves in being very responsive to questions from our guests, both before and during their stay. We hope your travel home was uneventful and we hope to welcome you back to SUNSCAPE in the future! Best, Pat

 

Rem

Middletown, DE

4

NYE Family Getaway

4 of 5

Rem

Our stay at SUNSCAPE was relaxing and a nice change of pace. Since it was cold out, we didn't really get to do much outdoors. We visited the beach a few times. DiscoverSea Museum was closed until March. There are definitely alot of different board games in the TV Stand. No need to bring your own. There was plenty of room for our party of 6. The bathroom is spacious and has a huge beautiful skylight. The decor was beachy and comfortable. My best friend and I enjoyed catching up in the sun room. We loved the windows. My children, 11 and 7, enjoyed the herons in the lake. They also liked the 2nd TV in the master. My son slept on the blue futon chair. Overall, our stay was awesome. My only feedback to the homeowners (only because we are foodies and cooked all of our meals at home and is nit picky just based on what we like) was the state of the pots and pans. They were Teflon and scratched. We generally use stainless steel. Oh, and maybe long tongs and 1 sharp knife. The kitchen was well appointed with everything that is needed. There are specific instructions and everything was labeled well. Plus, the home was very warm. We were surprised with how warm the house was even after turning down the heat. Pat was also lovely to deal with, responding to my emails quickly. Lastly, Pat also returned my deposit right away (same day actually.) Overall, our experience with Pat and SUNSCAPE was wonderful. Thank you for sharing your home with us. I hope that my children did not bother the neighbors too much. Happy New Year!

Submitted: Jan 3, 2017

Stayed: December 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Hi R, thank you for the lovely review! So happy you could spend New Years Eve at SUNSCAPE to begin your year. Thanks for the feedback about the pots and pans - I'll be checking out those after-holiday sales for a new set, as well as some tongs and a sharper knife. All will be in place for your return visit! Here's to a happy and healthy New Year to you all! Best, Pat

 

Mark W.

5

Everything we wanted and more

5 of 5

Mark W.

A charming and comfortable place. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. We enjoyed the patio overlooking the lake every night. Located close to the many places to see and go. We enjoyed four of the local eateries in walking distance from the front door. Breakfast at the Countryside cafe, Lunch and late night snacks at Billy's Sub Shop, Happy Hour and Keno at Smitty McGee's, and Early Bird Dining at Mio Fratello. Pat and Henry couldn't have been more responsive and accommodating as we set up the booking. We will definitely be back for more....

Submitted: Oct 24, 2016

Stayed: October 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to your next visit! Best, Pat

 

Gillian T.

Friendship

5

Home from home

5 of 5

Gillian T.

My husband and spent a cozy weekend together in this townhome in Fenwick island. Although it rained all weekend the house was so comfy we were able to kick back and relax. Pat had supplied all the creature comforts of home. The beach was only a 5 minute drive away, grocery stores were close by as were many restaurants. Pat was always very quick to respond and even contacted us with ideas for a rainy weekend! I highly recommend this property

Submitted: Oct 13, 2016

Stayed: October 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Yes, G, so much to do, even on a rainy day! The OC Life Saving Museum, the outstanding Ward Waterfowl Decoy Museum, tax free shopping at Tanger Outlets, indoor mini golf and YES, even indoor ice skating! So glad you enjoyed yourselves, please come back soon! Best, Pat

 

Anonymous

5

Love Fenwick Island

5 of 5

Anonymous

We have been to Mallard Lakes several times and always enjoy the Fenwick Island area. You are far enough out to be away from all the hustle and bustle yet close enough to enjoy everything in the area - Ocean City, Bethany Beach and Rehoboth. We didn't go this year but Assateague Island is fun to visit, too. This townhouse was reasonably priced and decorated like a beach house should be. We were very comfortable during out stay and Pat contacted us by email to make sure everything was going well. The weather was HOT but we still kept ourselves entertained and had a good time. Lots of good restaurants around and we had ice cream at a different spot every night! Highly recommend!

Submitted: Aug 1, 2016

Stayed: July 2016

Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: Yes, it's been a HOT summer in Fenwick Island - glad you could enjoy the 2 pools at Mallard Lakes where our guests can also enjoy FREE water aerobics classes in season. Thank you for visiting SUNSCAPE, we hope to welcome you again! Best, Pat

 

Cindy D.

5

Wonderful, relaxing vacation

5 of 5

Cindy D.

What can we say? This was our 2nd stay at Sunscape and it was absolutely fabulous. Pat is great in the booking department, checking in during our stay and giving recommendations on things to see and do. This townhouse is well kept and the beachy decor is perfect for the area. It is located in a quiet area, so you can relax in a peaceful setting, but can also be in the hustle on the boardwalk within minutes. During our stay we went and saw the wild ponies and did some hiking, spent time on the boardwalk, shopped at the outlets in Rehoboth, and jumped waves and shell searched at Fenwick Island State Park. The stay was great from start to finish, we hated to leave.

Cindy D

Submitted: Jul 18, 2016

Stayed: July 2016

Owner's Response: I'm always so happy to hear how much our honored guests enjoyed their stay at SUNSCAPE. And we love our repeat guests! Glad you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming your family back next summer. Best, Pat

 

Pier M.

Silver Spring, MD

5

Great stay and all you need to enjoy!

5 of 5

Pier M.

The owner was great to work with! The home was well prepared when we arrived. Everything that you would need was provided. The unit was well taken care of and thoughtfully decorated and furnished. Instructions were clearly labeled and easy to use. The back porch area was very relaxing as you looked out on the lake. Definitely a place to stay!

Submitted: Jun 21, 2016

Stayed: June 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Yes, the sunroom overlooking the lake is a favorite spot! Relaxing and peaceful. Please visit us again!

 

Emily S.

4

nice and cheap place to stay!

4 of 5

Emily S.

Sunscape was a beautiful place!!!! Thank you so much. I really enjoyed sitting outside with my coffee in the mornings looking at the lake. It was a great location too, being so close to both Rehoboth and OCMD. We enjoyed that there was great working AC and cable (we don't have cable at home). I know that's silly but we liked it! Also loved the laundry machine... was nice to do our clothing prior to leaving.

Submitted: Jun 13, 2016

Stayed: June 2016

 

Owner's Response: Yes, that morning coffee or evening glass of wine is made all the more special by the fabulous lake view! Sometimes the heron will patiently fish for her dinner only several feet from our sunroom. So special!

 

Sharon L.

5

Beautiful and cozy beach house!

5 of 5

Sharon L.

Beautiful and cozy beach house! Has everything you need and more and the owners are so nice and friendly. Located in a quiet area but close to the beach, restaurants, shopping and mini golf. We rented Waverunners just up the road. Boardwalk is a short drive away. Had a wonderful vacation and hope to go back soon!

Submitted: Jun 11, 2016

Stayed: June 2016

Owner's Response: Dear S, we're so happy you discovered SUNSCAPE and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back any time! Best, Pat

 

Melissa Z.

5

Charming house, Perfect for family fun

5 of 5

Melissa Z.

What a great house! Perfect for guests of all ages. Charming community--pool, crabbing docks, playground etc. Stayed for a weekend and had a wonderful time. Very close to beach, stores, restaurants, etc. Definitely would stay here again!!

Submitted: Jun 6, 2016

Stayed: June 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting SUNSCAPE! Perhaps on your next visit, you'll try our other Mallard Lakes home, HERONS VIEW. Either way, we look forward to welcoming your family again. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Best, Pat

 

Janette G.

4

Comfortable and Convenient

4 of 5

Janette G.

Bed and furniture are very comfortable. This quiet location is very convenient to Fenwick and Ocean City, local restaurants and pubs, a marina, grocery stores, bakery and hair salon. No bay or ocean view but those views and activities are a very quick drive away.

Submitted: May 16, 2016

Stayed: May 2016

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: J, we're so happy you chose SUNSCAPE! The sunset views from the Adirondack chairs overlooking the lake are spectacular! Please come and see us again. Best, Pat

 

Suzanna D.

Baltimore

5

Cozy, comfortable, affordable Sunscape!

5 of 5

Suzanna D.

Sunscape is a warm, cozy, and very clean home away from home. After the hurricane passed and the wind died down, the sun came out shining beautifully over the lake that we look out upon from the living area. We came to get away from the city and leave behind the sirens, politics, and violence. We were not surprised that Mallard Lakes would make a great home for us, either full time or part. Now, we will be aware of the nicety of a quiet life in our retirement years better than Maryland where taxes are high and we're sure to get a tax increase living in Baltimore for the riots in April. Delaware is retiree friendly for sure!

Well located Sunscape is near everything you may need within a couple of miles! And the amenities for summer are plentiful. Walking is easy as everything is flat, next time here I'll look for a bike to buy. Thank you Pat for your interest in providing a very comfortable stay. We look forward to returning.

Submitted: Oct 26, 2015

Stayed: October 2015

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: M & S, we're so happy you were pleased with your month long sojourn at SUNSCAPE. It was wonderful meeting you and welcoming you to Mallard Lakes, a little piece of heaven in lower, slower Delaware. Location, location, location! When our guests want the excitement of the OC or Rehoboth boardwalk, its just a short drive away, but then they can return to the serenity and peace at Mallard Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best, Pat

 

Richard S.

Shrewsbury,Pa

5

Good vacation

5 of 5

Richard S.

Had a very good and relaxing vacation.The property was everything advertised.It is a real home away from home.Everywhere we wanted to go seemed to be close by.Would recommend to anyone who wants to visit the Ocean beaches.

Submitted: Sep 30, 2015

Stayed: September 2015

Source: HomeAway

 

Vincent m.

5

excellent!!!!!

5 of 5

Vincent m.

The owners were fabulous to deal with. Everything was simple to use with well detailed instructions. Our family had a great time. We would highly recommend, and will definitely rent from again. Short distance to everything!

Submitted: Sep 14, 2015

Stayed: September 2015

Source: HomeAway

Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your visit! I know the weather didn't cooperate but even a rainy day at the beach can beat a sunny day at home! ( we actually enjoy visiting in the dead of winter - the lake is frozen and the geese just sit on top of it - it's quite lovely!) We hope to welcome you back again sometime. Best, Pat

 

nora l.

5

Peaceful Easy Feeling

5 of 5

nora l.

Thank you Pat and Henry for your hospitality! We had a wonderful stay at Sunscape.The place was clean, cozy, cute and comfortable, with all of the amenities of home. We enjoyed the beautiful pool each evening. Brought our own hummingbird feeder and the little beauties appeared in less than a minute (really!) Love breakfast on the porch overlooking one of the lakes. So serene and lovely! Can't wait to come back.We think it would be wonderful in the fall, too.....

Submitted: Aug 15, 2015

Stayed: July 2015

Source: HomeAway

 

Cindy D.

5

Inviting an Relaxing Vacation Home

5 of 5

Cindy D.

This was our 1st time renting a home for a week at the beach. It was perfect!! The booking process was a cinch, we had a couple initial questions and Pat answered them immediately. The house was great. Besides myself and my husband, we had 3 teenagers and everyone agreed it was close to everything we needed. The boys did some fishing and when pizza or subs were needed, they were right across the street. Our kids even did some grilling on the outside grill. We were able to have a quick breakfast in the AM and then be at Fenwick Island State Park in 5 min., or be in OC in 20 or so min. We enjoyed parasailing, Grand Prix amusement, and miniature golf. We even had some storms during our stay and Pat checked in with us to be sure all was OK. Definitely would recommend Pat and Sunscape to anyone heading to this area. Thanks for the wonderful memories!!

Submitted: Jul 26, 2015

Stayed: July 2015

Source: HomeAway